Natural Looking Faux Greenery

Am I the only person in the world who hasn’t started decorating for Christmas? It feels like it. The only thing I’ve done is hang a plain evergreen wreath on my front door. That’s it. I suppose I should get busy.

Yesterday I was out and about looking at some holiday decor, specifically greenery. The lighted fir garland I use for my stairs is looking sad, it’s over 10 years old. Last year I layered it with real cedar garland and eucalyptus and I admit it looked amazing, until 10 days later when the gorgeous evergreens had dried to a crisp. They still looked pretty for the photos though. 🙂

It’s that age old debate, do you decorate with faux or the real thing? Or both? I’ve always used both, although as the years go by I’m leaning more toward collecting really nice faux pieces since they last longer and can be reused. I still prefer the look of the real thing and scent is what makes the season special, but I’m limiting my use of it more and more.

My sister went full faux with her Christmas tree, and she loves it, but I haven’t done that yet. I still get a real evergreen tree because my teens love the outing where they pick it out, but at some point I’ll invest in a really nice faux tree someday. I reason the Christmas smell can always be captured with a nice wreath and some fresh garland strung up here and there.

Favorite fauxs in my collection include a boxwood wreath (seen here) and some birch trees (seen here, purchased here). I rounded up more realistic faux versions for your consideration.

larch tree / flocked pine wreath

olive leaves wreath / crimson berries

eucalyptus garland / frosted pine stem

birch stakes / holly stem

pine with white berry garland / magnolia wreath

.

from Home Improvement https://centsationalstyle.com/2018/11/natural-looking-faux-greenery/

Leave a comment